Yearlong Obsession

Subscribe to a site called Machine Knit Community and it has a yearlong knit along or KAL. The KAL is making an alphabet blanket or throw on a knitting machine. It is call the Building Block KAL Usually 4 squares a month, That started out pretty easy and went way beyond there. I have totally enjoyed this and have learned so much!

Chose a yarn that I knew my machine liked lol. I had quite the stash already and have added to it a bit as I ran out. Unfortunately the company seems to be phasing it out. Always the way you like something and they tweak it or phase it out. The knitting is down to 4 squares…G,Q, J and T. Letters have always been a challenge. So I have been sewing things together with gaps but at least I am that far ahead. With arthritis in both thumbs I have been using the sewing machine. I’ve been on the hunt for a color changer for about the entire time may. If it arrives I’ll have one to use for the last ones. Unable to do stripes very easily without it. Found a plastic quilt square 6×6 inches and washable markers that have been a great help.

One of the members developed a presentation or PowerPoint way of putting photos of the squares into their spots. I haven’t got powerpoint but found an app that I could use that is similar. Luckily I had taken individual photos of them from the start. This isn’t quite correct but close enough for my purposes as far as colors and balancing them out etc. I will post a photo of the completed blanket. see below

This was a great help over night: Cat protection, it is not a bed. Lol.

Leave a comment