Anniversary

Just realized that this will be my 50th year weaving. Took classes after high school at Norwood Looms in Baldwin MI. Had a week long class taught by Melvina McGarr, her husband built the looms. Bought a loom and all the equipment. Found a sales a receipt from back then, that was a shock. I’ve been hooked on fiber pursuits ever since. Could knit and crochet prior to that but never formal classes. Then in 1976 I learned to spin from Ron Reese in Monroe Mi and purchased a wheel from him. Fiber was hard to find in those days so I used a wool top from Franks Nursery and Crafts.

Over the years I have taught myself computer programs that drive weaving looms…Megado from Louet. Went back to college in 2005 at Haywood Community College for a degree in Professional Crafts Fiber. If only my health would have stayed the same I would have been doing something different…

Now I am enjoying classes / KALs from Machine Knit Community I belong to a group making an Alphabet blanket that has been a lot of fun. Also a 21 day Fair isle Challenge, My cowl is from that group. I had to make it my own with a different pattern. Took me a bit longer because life has intervened. Any ideas on what color to paint my foam head?

Having trouble with my Spinal Cord Stimulator for the first time in 7 years. On to more tests… fun, not fun.

Leave a comment